Let’s Talk About Books, Baby

I recently had the opportunity to be interviewed by author and BookTalk TV host, Steve Seitz. We chatted about all things book: writing, editing, publishing, and marketing, to name a few topics.

Chatting with Steve got me thinking. As I mention in the interview, now is an exciting time to be in publishing. Indie authors are producing high-quality books they can be proud of and that are great contributors to the world of books.

Publishing gatekeepers no longer control what gets published and what doesn’t. The stigma of self-publishing is fading. Being an indie author isn’t about not being “good enough” to be published traditionally. Making the choice to self-publish is just that–a choice. I know of quite a few authors who have been approached by traditional publishers, and they have chosen to pursue their own path of self-publishing instead of going the way of traditional publishing.

I am proud to be a part of the indie community. I am honored each and every time an author chooses to work with me. Because working with me is also a choice. Authors aren’t waiting to be edited. They are being proactive in ensuring their books are of the highest quality. And I’m proud of those who strive to make their books excellent.

So thank you, indies. Thank you for letting me be a part of your journeys. Thank you for your bravery and your willingness to pursue your goals on your own rather than waiting for someone else to make your publishing dreams come true. As always, I appreciate those who choose to share their words with me.

(You can watch the interview at the SAPATV website.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Words

Leave a Reply

